© 2024 Western New York Public Broadcasting Association

140 Lower Terrace
Buffalo, NY 14202

Mailing Address:
Horizons Plaza P.O. Box 1263
Buffalo, NY 14240-1263

Buffalo Toronto Public Media | Phone 716-845-7000
WBFO Newsroom | Phone: 716-845-7040
Your NPR Station
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Incumbents retain School Board seats, newcomer elected in North District

By Bert Gambini

Buffalo, NY – All five incumbents running for re-election to Buffalo's Board of Education retained their seats Tuesday.

Board President Ralph Hernandez, along with members Vivian Evans, Pamela Cahill, Louis Petrucci and Mary Ruth Kapsiak all came out on top.

A three-way race in the North District produced the sole newcomer to the board. Jason McCarthy will take the seat previously held by Catherine Nugent Panepinto, who is running for State Supreme Court.

The results, however, have not been declared official and votes are still being tallied. Some of the victory margins were slim, including the race in the Central District where 6 votes separate Vivian Evans from her challenger.

City-wide turnout -- at 4.1 percent -- was typically light.