© 2024 Western New York Public Broadcasting Association

140 Lower Terrace
Buffalo, NY 14202

Mailing Address:
Horizons Plaza P.O. Box 1263
Buffalo, NY 14240-1263

Buffalo Toronto Public Media | Phone 716-845-7000
WBFO Newsroom | Phone: 716-845-7040
Your NPR Station
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Donate Today Banner

Giambra, Swanick, SanFilippo Win, Pitts Loses

By Mark Wozniak and Howard Riedel

Buffalo, NY – Erie County Executive Joel Giambra was victorious Tuesday night in his re-election bid defeating democrat Dan Ward. He renewed his plans for consolidating services to make government cost-effective. Giambra echoed his campaign theme of working smarter, better and cheaper during his victory speech.

Kevin Hardwick -- the Republican candidate for the 10th legislative district lost to incumbent Charles Swanick. Swanick, also a Republican, pulled out a win on the Independence and Conservative lines. That offered the Republicans a win-win situation, defeating the Democratic candidate Patricia Ryan-Dudek. Swanick says this is a "significant victory" for him after 24 years in office.

Veteran Buffalo politician James Pitts was defeated in his attempt to become Buffalo city comptroller. Acting comptroller Andrew SanFilippo, a lifelong Democrat, won the post, mostly with Republican backing.

In the Buffalo Common Council, most incumbents were re-elected. In the South District, former Mayor James Griffin ousted incumbent Mary Martino. In the University district, Bonnie Russell was elected.

Niagara Falls mayor Irene Elia was defeated in her re-election bid. She lost to Vince Anello by a nearly three to one margin. Most incumbents were returned to office in the Niagara County legislature. In the first district, Steven D'Anna ousted incumbent Daniel Mocniak.

In the race for Erie County Family Court judge, Rosalie Bailey and former Buffalo school board member Paul Buchanan were the two leading vote-getters. Barbara Howe was overwhelmingly chosen as Surrogate Court Judge. And, Kevin Keane and Debra Givens were elected to the city court bench.

Republicans on the Amherst Town Board maintained their five to two majority over the Democrats. All three Republicans running in yesterday's election were elected -- incumbents Bill Kindel and Mike McGuire and newcomer Bill O'Laughlin. O'Laughlin is a veteran investment adviser and radio talk show host who says resolving the town's budget problems is his chief priority.

In other races, Norman Polanski ousted incumbent Lackawanna mayor John Kuryak. John Beaumont defeated challenger Victor Kaye to be reelected mayor of Kenmore. Dennis Gabryszak was reelected Cheektowaga town supervisor. In Lockport, Republican Michael Tucker beat Democrat Thomas Sullivan in the mayor's race. And, the Council presidency in the city of Tonawanda is too close to call, with only five votes separating Carleton Zeisz and John White.