© 2022 Western New York Public Broadcasting Association

140 Lower Terrace
Buffalo, NY 14202

Mailing Address:
Horizons Plaza P.O. Box 1263
Buffalo, NY 14240-1263

Buffalo Toronto Public Media | Phone 716-845-7000
WBFO Newsroom | Phone: 716-845-7040
Your NPR Station
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Donate Today Banner

NYS travel quarantine now impacts 22 states

File Photo

The New York State travel advisory list that requires a 14-day quarantine for people upon arrival in New York has been expanded by four states.

Minnesota, New Mexico, Ohio and Wisconsin join Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Nevada, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas and Utah. Delaware has been removed from the list.

The quarantine applies to any person arriving from a state with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a 7-day rolling average, or a state with a 10% or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average.

A travel enforcement operation announced Monday by Gov. Andrew Cuomo takes effect Tuesday at airports in the state to ensure travelers follow the quarantine restrictions. Travelers arriving from high-risk states will be greeted with State Health Department forms to self-report where they have traveled. Failure to complete the form can lead to a fine.

Mark Wozniak, WBFO's local All Things Considered host, has been at WBFO since mid-1978.
Related Content