© 2024 Western New York Public Broadcasting Association

140 Lower Terrace
Buffalo, NY 14202

Mailing Address:
Horizons Plaza P.O. Box 1263
Buffalo, NY 14240-1263

Buffalo Toronto Public Media | Phone 716-845-7000
WBFO Newsroom | Phone: 716-845-7040
Your NPR Station
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Seneca Nation elects new President

Rickey Armstrong Sr.

The Seneca Nation has a new leader. Elected President Tuesday night was Rickey Armstrong Sr., a member of the Nation Council since 2014 and former President from 2002-2004.

“The Seneca Nation has made tremendous progress over the past two decades, but we need a vision for securing our future,” Armstrong said. “From healthcare, housing and education services to protecting the long-term viability of our business enterprises, we need to work together to provide the services and the foundation for growth that the Seneca people need, want and deserve.”

The Seneca Party reports Armstrong won in a landslide victory: 1829-221 votes. He will replace Todd Gates, who became President in 2016, in a swearing-in ceremony next week.

In addition to Armstrong, Matthew Pagels of the Cattaraugus Territory was elected Seneca Nation Treasurer and Bethany Johnson of the Allegany Territory was elected Seneca Nation Clerk. The party reports Pagels received 1821 votes and Johnson received 1737 votes.

Voters also chose eight members to serve on the 16-member Seneca Nation Council for a four-year term. Elected from the Allegany Territory were Tina Abrams (1776 votes), Billy Canella (1800 votes), Josh Jimerson (1847 votes) and Angie Kennedy (1832 votes).

Four members of the Nation Council were elected from the Cattaraugus Territory: Ross John Sr. (1686 votes), Bobby Jones (1751 votes), Llona Leroy (1749 votes) and John Williams, Jr. (1763 votes).

Related Content