© 2022 Western New York Public Broadcasting Association

140 Lower Terrace
Buffalo, NY 14202

Mailing Address:
Horizons Plaza P.O. Box 1263
Buffalo, NY 14240-1263

Buffalo Toronto Public Media | Phone 716-845-7000
WBFO Newsroom | Phone: 716-845-7040
Your NPR Station
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
All of us at Buffalo Toronto Public Media are heartbroken by the senseless tragedy that occurred in our great City on Saturday, May 14th. We are grieving with our community and are committed to helping it heal. Our thoughts are with the victims, their families, friends, and the employees and customers of Tops Friendly Markets.

Western New York represented at 2021 Media Access Awards

Marcus (Noah Jupe), Regan (Millicent Simmonds) and Evelyn (Emily Blunt) brave the unknown in A Quiet Place Part II.
Jonny Cournoyer
Paramount Pictures
Marcus (Noah Jupe), Regan (Millicent Simmonds) and Evelyn (Emily Blunt) brave the unknown in A Quiet Place Part II.

Thursday the spotlight will be on disability representation in the media as Easterseals Disability Services hosts the 2021 Media Access Awards— and there will be Western New York representation on the virtual stage.

The national awards ceremony honors the “accurate portrayals and employment of people with disabilities” in different forms of media.

There are some big names taking the stage, including host Millicent Simmonds, who you might remember as Regan in A Quiet Place and A Quiet Place II, of which the latter was filmed in Western New York. The director of those two films, John Krasinski, will also be part of the ceremony, receiving an award for directing the films.

Western New York’s own Keah Brown, a journalist, actress and writer, will be presenting the Media Access Visionary Award to Selma Blair. Notably, Brown is known for her book “The Pretty One,” and for creating #DisabledAndCute.

Blair is being recognized for her work, which includes her recent documentary, “Introducing, Selma Blair,” which follows her experience living with multiple sclerosis.

The Media Access Awards will air online at 9 p.m.