© 2024 Western New York Public Broadcasting Association

140 Lower Terrace
Buffalo, NY 14202

Mailing Address:
Horizons Plaza P.O. Box 1263
Buffalo, NY 14240-1263

Buffalo Toronto Public Media | Phone 716-845-7000
WBFO Newsroom | Phone: 716-845-7040
Your NPR Station
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Seneca Nation president and treasurer swap positions in 2020 election

Seneca Nation

The Seneca Nation’s current President and Treasurer will switch places as a result of this year’s election.

Current Treasurer Matt Pagels, of the nation’s Cattaraugus territory, won this year’s election for President with 1,279 votes against challenger Sally Snow. Current President Ricky Armstrong Jr., of the nation’s Allegany Territory, won the race for Treasurer with 1,309 votes. And Marta Kettle, of the Cattaraugus Territory, was elected the nation’s clerk with 1,431 votes. Eight members were chosen to serve on the 16-member Seneca Nation Council for a four-year term – four from each of the territories. Pagels will be sworn in as president of the next week.

Avery began his broadcasting career as a disc jockey for WRUB, the University at Buffalo’s student-run radio station.