© 2024 Western New York Public Broadcasting Association

140 Lower Terrace
Buffalo, NY 14202

Mailing Address:
Horizons Plaza P.O. Box 1263
Buffalo, NY 14240-1263

Buffalo Toronto Public Media | Phone 716-845-7000
WBFO Newsroom | Phone: 716-845-7040
Your NPR Station
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Nowakowski, Bollman win Common Council seats vacated by Franczyk, Fontana

WBFO News / Facebook
Mitch Nowakowski (l) and Bryan Bollman came up winners Election Day.

Buffalo's Common Council remains an all-Democratic body following Tuesday's election, with two newcomers winning the seats vacated by a pair of longtime council members.Mitch Nowakowski won 64% of the vote in the Fillmore District, defeating Raymond Brinson (CON), Mohammed Jahangir Alam (UFD) and David Howard (CP). Nowakowski takes over the seat held for decades by David Franczyk, who decided not to seek re-election.

In the Lovejoy District, Bryan Bollman easily defeated minor party candidate Antoinette Craig, 82% to 17%. He succeeds longtime council member Richard Fontana.

Masten council member Ulysses Wingo cruised toward an 83% to 16% victory over minor party candidate Veronica Golden. David Rivera kept his Niagara District seat, beating the lone Republican running for city council, Mark Supples, with 76% of the vote. Green Party candidates Charley Tarr earned 4%. University District incumbent Rasheed Wyatt also won easily over the Green Party's Dorethea Franklin.

Council members Joel Feroleto, Darius Pridgen, Joseph Golombek Jr. and Christopher Scanlon ran unopposed.

Monday - Friday, 10 a.m.. - 2 p.m.