© 2024 Western New York Public Broadcasting Association

140 Lower Terrace
Buffalo, NY 14202

Mailing Address:
Horizons Plaza P.O. Box 1263
Buffalo, NY 14240-1263

Buffalo Toronto Public Media | Phone 716-845-7000
WBFO Newsroom | Phone: 716-845-7040
Your NPR Station
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Newest class of Buffalo Broadcasting Hall of Fame announced

Buffalo Broadcasters Association
(From top left) Dick Greene, Ray Marks, Pete Weber, Mike Randall, Jim Pastrick, Carl Russo, Noah Maciejewski

The Buffalo Broadcasting Hall of Fame announced its six new inductees Tuesday. The new inductees are: Voice of the Nashville Predators Pete Weber, WKBW-TV meteorologist Mike Randall, 97 Rock DJ Carl Russo, Townsquare Media Associate Commercial Producer Jim Pastrick, Radio Station Owner Dick Greene, and the late Buffalo radio newsman Ray Marks.

Buffalo Broadcasting Association President Steve Reszka said the people inducted into the Hall of Fame are chosen for a reason.

“These are people who made a lasting mark in radio, television and the cable industry here in Western New York and across the country,” said Reszka.

At a Tuesday morning news conference, each member had a chance to say a few words after being officially announced as an inductee. Russo – a man known for his talents on the microphone – was nearly speechless when talking about the honor.

“To be included in the people in the Buffalo Broadcaster’s Hall of Fame, I’m… stunned, humbled, honored,” said Russo. “It’s just… wow. It’s a great thing for me. It’s been a dream to be a broadcaster and now it’s another dream come true.”

Reszka understands the 2017 class leans towards radio, but that all depends on the year. He said the six men being inducted this year are all very deserving of this recognition. He also said why having the Hall of Fame is so important.

“You’ve got to find some way to recognize the history and memorialize the history,” said Reszka. “You know, these people have all done an outstanding job in their career. They deserve to be recognized, and it’s tough competition. Not just anybody walks into the Hall of Fame. But more importantly, from our point of view, we need to capture their memories, their thoughts, their experiences about being in broadcasting.”

The Broadcasters Association is also awarding Noah Maciejewski, a student at Fredonia State University, with the Tim Russert Medal of Merit and a $1,000 scholarship.

The six inductees and award winner will be honored at a banquet Thursday, September 28 in the studios of WNED-TV.

Biographies of the inductees are online at the Buffalo Broadcasters Association website.

Related Content