© 2024 Western New York Public Broadcasting Association

140 Lower Terrace
Buffalo, NY 14202

Mailing Address:
Horizons Plaza P.O. Box 1263
Buffalo, NY 14240-1263

Buffalo Toronto Public Media | Phone 716-845-7000
WBFO Newsroom | Phone: 716-845-7040
Your NPR Station
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
WBFO brings you live coverage of the Republican National Convention tonight from 10pm-11pm, and Wednesday & Thursday from 9pm-11pm.

WBFO wins top radio awards from PRNDI, AP

Omar Fetouh/WBFO News

WBFO has won first place honors in a national competition for its coverage of the Snowvember Storm. Public Radio News Directors Inc.In an awards ceremony last weekend, PRNDI singled out WBFO’s continuing coverage of the historic storm. The station also won second place in the breaking news category for coverage of a downtown hostage standoff. PRNDI received more than 1,100 entries from public radio newsrooms across the country in approximately 20 categories.

In June, WBFO won the top award in the New York State Associated Press Association's annual news awards competition. 

WBFO topped the radio competition with a total of seven first-place winners to take home the Steve Flanders Award for the second consecutive year after sharing the grand prize with WRVO in Oswego in 2014. WBFO also won the Flanders Award in 2006 and 2009.

The awards for news stories broadcast in 2014 were presented during the NYSAPA's annual banquet in Saratoga Springs.

WBFO was awarded first place in the following categories: Best Continuing News Coverage, "Snowvember: A Historic Lake-Effect Storm," staff; Best Spot News Coverage, "Snowvember: A Historic Lake-Effect Storm," staff;  Best News Series for "If Our Water Could Talk," Eileen Buckley, Jay Moran and John Grant; Best Interview for "Peter, Paul & Mary's Paul Stookey," Eileen Buckley;Best Enterprise Reporting, "Most At-Risk Teens," Eileen Buckley; and Best Website/Digital Platforms, staff.

In addition, Senior Reporter Eileen Buckley was once again the recipient of the Art Athens Award for General Excellence of Individual Reporting. WBFO staffers Chris Caya, Mike Desmond, Omar Fetouh, Cheryl Hagen, Jay Moran and also earned special mentions from the AP for stories and interviews they produced in 2014.