© 2023 Western New York Public Broadcasting Association

140 Lower Terrace
Buffalo, NY 14202

Mailing Address:
Horizons Plaza P.O. Box 1263
Buffalo, NY 14240-1263

Buffalo Toronto Public Media | Phone 716-845-7000
WBFO Newsroom | Phone: 716-845-7040
Your NPR Station
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Trump nominates new IJC commissioners

There may soon be some new faces at the helm of the International Joint Commission, which helps protect and regulate the Great Lakes. The White House has announced the names of the three new commissioners for the IJC.

Former New York Assemblywoman Jane Corwin will be designated chair.  The Tonawanda native retired from the state assembly in 2016.

The other nominees are Robert Sisson of Michigan and Lance Yohe of North Dakota. Sisson is the president of ConservAmerica, a self-described "non-partisan" environmental group.

Yohe is the former executive director of the Red River Basin Commission, a water advocacy group based in North Dakota.

The nominations are subject to Senate approval.

The IJC has six commissioners, three from the U.S. and three from Canada. They advise both federal governments on environmental issues, and control some dams along the international border.


Related Content