© 2024 Western New York Public Broadcasting Association

140 Lower Terrace
Buffalo, NY 14202

Mailing Address:
Horizons Plaza P.O. Box 1263
Buffalo, NY 14240-1263

Buffalo Toronto Public Media | Phone 716-845-7000
WBFO Newsroom | Phone: 716-845-7040
Your NPR Station
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Donate Today Banner

NPR Wins Eight Edward R. Murrow Awards


This weekend, teams across NPR (virtually) took home eight Edward R. Murrow Awards from the Radio Television Digital News Association. A huge congratulations to all of the teams below:

  • Winner, "Excellence in Innovation" - the NPR Student Podcast Challenge, from the Education team.
  • Winner, "Continuing Coverage" - "'There Is No Protection': Exposing the Remain In Mexico Policy," a series of stories from the National Desk immigration team and from Morning Edition and Noel King's trip to the U.S.-Mexico border. This is the third year in a row that NPR's immigration coverage has won this award. 
  • Winner, "Excellence in Sound" -  the Science Desk project After the Water. Thewinning radio piece was by Rebecca Hersher and aired on All Things Considered.
  • Winner, "Excellence in Writing" - the Hidden Brain piece "The Ventilator: Life, Death And The Choices We Make At The End."
  • Winner, "Hard News" - the piece "Syrians Say Innocent Civilians Were Killed In U.S. Raid On Abu Bakr Al-Baghdadi," from Daniel Estrin, which aired on All Things Considered.
  • Winner, "News Series" - for reporting about the TEACH Grant Program.The winning piece included Cory Turner, Chris Arnold, and Kenny Malone and aired on Planet Money.
  • Winner, "Multimedia" - the "TahoeLand 'Trawling for Clarity'" project with CapRadio and NPR.
  • Winner, "Sports Reporting" - "Learning to Swim With 7-Foot-5 Celtic Tacko Fall," a piece from Only a Game
  • See more public media recipients of 2020 Murrow Awards at the RTDNA website.

    The Radio Television Digital News Association has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. Award recipients demonstrate the spirit of excellence that Murrow set as a standard for the profession of electronic journalism.

    Copyright 2021 NPR. To see more, visit https://www.npr.org.